God is reason itself?

Daily prompt: It’s never a good idea to discuss religion or politics with people you don’t really know.” Agree or disagree?

I wholeheartedly disagree :) So here’s a question:

gon

(from my old blog)

I got this quote from a book on Aristotle. On the last page the authors mentioned the words of quite liberal Islamic scholars who believed that: “Rationalism is the final form of religion and that God is reason itself, and so, rational thought is a better way of understanding divinity than revelation in scripture.”

3 thoughts on “God is reason itself?

  1. I don’t think rational thought *or* revelation in scripture have anything to do with divinity though either may point the way to the experience of it. I think divinity is internal, and universal. It cannot be thought about or read about. True divinity is within each of us and liberation comes from the actual recognition, and lived experience that nothing is personal, and all is one. I hope I’m making some kind of sense here. Basically I’m saying that thinking about it or reading revelatory scriptures about it is not IT, in the same way that calling a tree a tree is still just describing something. It’s not the thing itself. Oy I think I better stop now.

  2. I agree with Alison, but I am reminded of something: I was reading a philosophy text where the author (a long time professor of philosophy) said that philosophy & rationalism turned him away from God when he was young, but it steered him back to God when he was old.
    I know that rationalism is not subjective, but we all have a bias that is fluid and changes throughout our lives and this bias can effect the way you stack the hundreds of arguments together to say personally whether God exists or whether there is no rational God (or some other option).
    I don’t have a conclusion, just wanted to share the thought :)

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Polite Company « Dibbler Dabbler

Leave a Reply

