Sugar detox challenge: I’m made of sugar, don’t you know.

crop2 Sometimes it feels like a little fat monster just took your heart out, then went to sit in a corner and started nibbling right on the bits where it hurts the most.

And to scare that little three-eyed fatty away there always had been some sweet delight to save what was left from that pounding muscular organ.

I’m 9 days into this detox and realized that I’m not that brave. My world has fallen apart just a teensie bit (okay a lot a bit) and to cope with the loss (or the freedom) leaves me a bit puzzled. What to do?

It’s quite peculiar that practically every social event is marked with the consumption of sugar. Birthdays, death, heartbreak, weddings etc. Having no access to sugar makes me look at how I handle things and, though hard, forces me to find alternatives that are perhaps a bit more healthy than getting into a sugar high or hide under my blanket.

(But ooh how I’d love to munch on a bar of Milka Oreo’s or Tony Chocolonely Salty Karamel right now!)

Still 21 days to go. The one thing that does make me smile is drawing and a new doodle, for my friend Saviour is coming up. I’m trying to record how I did it as some of you asked me for a tutorial before. The good news is that I’ve finally got some decent glasses and I can actually see what I’m doing. Makes such a difference.. but my room looks a lot filthier too now ;)

A sugary quote to go: “Don’t cry, Treasure. You’ll get me all wet and then I’ll melt. I’m made of sugar, don’t you know.”

 by Kady Cross from The girl in the steel corset

10 thoughts on “Sugar detox challenge: I’m made of sugar, don’t you know.

  1. I hope everything works itself out. You’re doing really well with your zero-sugar thing – I doubt I could do it even if everything were going well.

    1. Time to change things around, for real this time, and be a big girl. I’m sure you could do it too :) (but it’s no fun I promise you that!) Hope all is well Drali. Wish you a good week! :D

    1. Strangely it does. I don’t have a lot of willpower and this is the first time I actually seem to be sticking to something – it makes me rethink a lot of thinks but that can only be good. Thanks for dropping by. . :)

Leave a Reply

